Can't set default comments formatting without content Topic is solved

Moderator: abstr

Locked
idoiuseisee
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 2:26 pm

Can't set default comments formatting without content

Post by idoiuseisee » Thu Sep 05, 2019 3:22 pm

Hi,

You can go to settings and set a default formatting for a task's comment box. When you do this, whenever you create a new task, the comment box will load that default formatting (plain text/rtf, font size, color, etc).

It works perfect if you set a default text; that text will be formatted as intended.
But if you only specify a format (let's say rtf, Comic Sans size 10, Bold) and do not write some text, the format is not loaded...If you write an empty space (" ") however, it will work fine.

It's not a crytical bug, but I believe it's not how it's supposed to be.

User avatar
abstr
Site Admin
Posts: 366
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2019 12:22 pm

Re: Template formatting for task?

Post by abstr » Mon Sep 09, 2019 12:39 am

Yes, I've noticed this myself in the past but failed to solve it.

I'll have another look...

User avatar
abstr
Site Admin
Posts: 366
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2019 12:22 pm

Re: Template formatting for task?

Post by abstr » Fri Sep 13, 2019 1:10 am

In the meantime, is it sufficient to add a single space and apply the formatting to that?

idoiuseisee
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 2:26 pm

Re: Template formatting for task?

Post by idoiuseisee » Thu Sep 19, 2019 10:12 am

Yeah it's fine!
As long as you take a look at my suggestions...Just joking.

It's ok this way, when you decide, you can fix it.
However it's a good idea to make sure your users know this 'trick' just so they can bypass this problem for now. And who knows, maybe it stops being a bug and turns out to be a feature :P

User avatar
abstr
Site Admin
Posts: 366
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2019 12:22 pm

Re: Can't set default comments formatting without content

Post by abstr » Sat Nov 09, 2019 9:10 am

Update - nothing I've tried has so far worked :(

mloucel7
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 7:14 pm

Re: Can't set default comments formatting without content

Post by mloucel7 » Sat Nov 16, 2019 7:27 pm

the whole setting that used to allow us to set either text or rich text is gone..
please see attachment, I can no longer choose my comments as rich text..
Attachments
comments setup.JPG
comments setup.JPG (63.2 KiB) Viewed 3569 times

User avatar
abstr
Site Admin
Posts: 366
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2019 12:22 pm

Re: Can't set default comments formatting without content

Post by abstr » Sun Nov 17, 2019 6:05 am

Yes, it has moved.

Try using the search box at the top left of the Preferences dialog...

mloucel7
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 7:14 pm

Re: Can't set default comments formatting without content

Post by mloucel7 » Thu Nov 21, 2019 1:19 am

I've tried all combinations
Text
Rich
Rich Text
Comments
comment
None of them work, I rather have my comments as "Rich Text" it is (at least for me more convenient) and I don't have to change that every single time from the original text.
Maybe I can't see the setting but I went 1 by 1 every setting and nothing.

Maurice.

User avatar
abstr
Site Admin
Posts: 366
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2019 12:22 pm

Re: Can't set default comments formatting without content

Post by abstr » Fri Nov 22, 2019 1:21 am

commentsformat.png
commentsformat.png (24.91 KiB) Viewed 3547 times

Locked